Credo Reference is an online resource providing full-text access to over 600 electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries. Predefined Topics pages and concept mapping are also available to help you get started in your research. Access Credo through the “Ebooks” page on the library website.
Credo provides help in context via green callout boxes to get you started searching. Access Help by clicking on the '?' (Help link) in the top right hand side of the page.
Watch the video How to run a Basic Search on Credo it's a good place to start.
Tags: research, databases, CREDO, reference, online resources, encyclopedias
Erudit can be used to find French-language articles from North America; like all our databases, Erudit is accessible from the “Articles” page on the library website.
The database can be searched in French or English (or Spanish) by clicking on the appropriate language button in the top right-hand corner of the search screen. A Help guide can be accessed by clicking “Help (Aide) on the right-hand side of the search screen (under the red “About Erudit” button).
UdeM has produced a tutorial video that explains how to use Erudit. (Note that the video is in French). Although this video is geared towards Cinema students, it still provides a good overview of the Erudit system.
Tags: research, databases, Erudit, articles, French
Champlain offers access to three different article databases through ProQuest: Research Library, SciTech Premium Collection, CBCA, or Canadian Newsstand. When you click on the link to any of these databases on the “Articles” page on the library website, you will be taken to the ProQuest search interface. From within this interface, you can view all of Champlain’s ProQuest databases, and choose which ones to search, by clicking the “Change databases” link at the top of the search page.
To learn more about changing databases and about performing a search in ProQuest, check out their video tutorials. (This link takes you to ProQuest’s YouTube channel, where you can see videos on many useful topics, including Basic Search, Advanced Search, and Search Results).
You can also access an online Help guide by clicking on the question mark (?) icon in the top right-hand corner of the ProQuest search screen, then clicking “ProQuest Help”:
Tags: research, databases, ProQuest, articles, newspapers, online resources