Special Care Counselling - RAC

Featuring more than sixty brand new maps, photographs, diagrams and charts, the Atlas of World Religions is an essential companion to any study on the key religions of the world.

Details more than 3,000 observances from all 50 states of the USA and more than 100 other nations. Use this to look up specific holidays.

A unique and comprehensive look at some 1,500 of the world's peoples-from the earliest times to the present-offers a fascinating exploration of our planet's cultural and ethnic diversity.

Provides concise information about the beliefs, practices, and history of more than 20 major religions. Additional features include bibliography, calendar index, holiday index, and master index.

In the age of globalization, the category of "World Literature" has become increasingly important to academic teaching and research. The Routledge Companion to World Literature offers a comprehensive pathway into this burgeoning and popular field.

This Companion features essays by African, European, and North American authors who assess the work of modern African artists as well as exploring the broader themes in their work.

The Encyclopedia of African History is an A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent.

This authoritative, comprehensive reference work covers South Africa's history, government and politics, law, society and culture, economy and infrastructure, demography, environment, and more, from the era of human origins to the present.

The essays in this volume explore the complexities of the relationship between states, social groups and individuals in contemporary North Africa, as expressed through the politics, culture and history of nationhood.

This book uses the figure of the jali (a hereditary group of Mandinka performers) to discuss cultural representations of Africans and their political implications.

The essays in this volume illustrates the variety and power of predominantly pentecostal-charismatic movements between Western and African religious actors and groups that has developed across the past twenty years.

This handbook brings together an international team of scholars from different disciplines to reflect on African popular cultural imaginaries. It is an essential read for students and scholars of African culture, society and media.

Women's Songs from West Africa expands our understanding of the world of women in West Africa by exploring the songs they sing and create.

This book examines different aspects of Asian popular culture, including films, TV, music, comedy, folklore, cultural icons, the Internet and theme parks.

This book examines the lived experiences of diasporic Korean youth in light of the transnational flows of South Korean popular culture, known as the Korean Wave, or Hallyu.

Japanese Culture: The Religious and Philosophical Foundations takes readers on a thoroughly researched and extremely readable journey through Japan's cultural history.

In Japan Unmasked, veteran Japanologist and author Boye Lafayette De Mente explores the social, cultural, and psychological characteristics responsible for the unique nature of modern-day Japanese culture- the real "face" behind the "mask"-and demonstrates how they have brought the Japanese to their central role on the world stage.

This book shows that Chinese transition from tradition to modernity cannot be understood with the framework of a unified general model of society, but rather through a more complex insight into the interrelations between environment, society and culture.

Chinese Folk Customs provides the reader with a kaleidoscopic view of social and cultural phenomena in various different areas and ethnic communities in China, in both ancient times and the present.

This report will get up to speed on all aspects of culture in Vietnam, including lifecycle, religion, women, superstitions & folklore, sports, holidays & festivals, and etiquette.

Focusing on the historical and contemporary narration of the Partition of India, this book examines transnational South Asian culture from 1947 onwards.

In Virtual Homelands, Madhavi Mallapragada analyzes home pages and other online communities organized by diasporic and immigrant Indians from the late 1990s through the social media period.

The book presents contemporary readings of Caribbean religion, education, language, music, race, sexual behavior in a time of the AIDS pandemic, and the economy.

Focusing on masking as a socially significant practice in Caribbean cultures, Gerard Aching's analysis articulates masking, mimicry, and misrecognition as a means of describing and interrogating strategies of visibility and invisibility in Cuba, Trinidad and Tobago, Martinique, and beyond.

This collection of eleven essays is designed to highlight some important new voices who have been doing research on important areas of the history and culture of Caribbean societies.

Resisting Paradise explores the import of both tourism and diaspora in shaping Caribbean identity. It examines Caribbean writers and others who confront the region's overdependence on the tourist industry and the many ways that tourism continues the legacy of colonialism.

This collection introduces readers to the history and practice of the Vodou religion, and corrects many misconceptions. The book focuses specifically on the role Vodou plays in Haiti, where it has its strongest following, examining its influence on spiritual beliefs, cultural practices, national identity, popular culture, writing and art.

Based primarily on women's experiential narratives and set against the backdrop of a severe economic crisis and intensified social movement activism post-2001, Bodies in Crisis illuminates how multiple forms of injustice converge in and are contested through women's bodies.

A Companion to Mexican History and Culture features 40 essays contributed by international scholars that incorporate ethnic, gender, environmental, and cultural studies to reveal a richer portrait of the Mexican experience, from the earliest peoples to the present.

Brazil has done much to shape football/soccer, but how has soccer shaped Brazil? The authors of this book consider questions such as the relationship between soccer, race relations, national identity and working class identity in Brazil.

This unique reader offers an engaging collection of essays that highlight the diversity of Latin America's cultural expressions from independence to the present. Leading historians explore funerals, dance and music, letters and literature, spectacles and monuments, and world's fairs and food.

Àsé is a West African Yoruba concept representing creative energy that spread to Brazil and throughout the African Diaspora. In Brazil, àsé is known as axé and has been reinvented, transmitted, and nurtured in Candomblé, an Afro-Brazilian religion. The author examines how axé and Candomblé have been appropriated and reinvented in Brazilian popular music and culture.

In Maya and Catholic Cultures in Crisis, John D. Early delves into the changing worldviews of these two groups in the second half of the twentieth century-a period of great turmoil for both.

This important and welcome volume is the first English-language anthology of writings on Latin American modern art of the twentieth century.

This nuanced book considers the role of religion and religiosity in modern Mexico, breaking new ground with an emphasis on popular religion and its relationship to politics.

To understand today's Arab thinking, you need to go back to the beginnings of modernity: the nahdah or Arab renaissance of the 19th and early 20th centuries. Abdulrazzak Patel enhances our understanding of the nahdah and its intellectuals, looking back to its origins in the 1700s and taking into account important internal factors alongside external forces.

In the long literary history of the Middle East, the notion of 'the beloved' has been a central trope in both the poetry and prose of the region. This book explores the concept in an interdisciplinary manner.

Despite changes in sovereignty and in religious thought, certain aspects of Iranian culture and identity have persisted since antiquity. This book examines the history of Iran from its ancient roots to the Islamic period.

Roger Allen provides a comprehensive introductory survey of literary texts in Arabic, from their unknown beginnings in the fifth century AD to the present.

This all-inclusive culture report of Iraq discusses lifecycle, religion, women, superstitions & folklore, sports, holidays & festivals, and etiquette.

This volume opens the canon of modern Jewish thought to the all too often overlooked writings of Jews from the Arab East, from the close of the nineteenth century to the middle of the twentieth. Whether they identified as Sephardim, Mizrahim, anticolonialists, or Zionists, these thinkers engaged the challenges and transformations of Middle Eastern Jewry in this decisive period.

As a botanist, Robin Wall Kimmerer asks questions of nature with the tools of science. As a member of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation, she embraces indigenous teachings that consider plants and animals to be our oldest teachers. Kimmerer brings these two lenses of knowledge together to take the reader on a fascinating journey.

The crisis of missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls in Canada is a national tragedy. Linking colonial practices with genocide, the authors illustrate the resilience of Indigenous women and girls as they struggle to survive in a society shaped by racism and sexism.

Being homeless in one's homeland is a colonial legacy for many Indigenous people in settler societies. Essays in this collection explore the meaning and scope of Indigenous homelessness in the Canada, Australia, and New Zealand.

In this collection of essays, Chelsea Vowel opens an important dialogue about several concepts of Indigenous history and culture and the wider social beliefs associated with the relationship between Indigenous Peoples and Canada.

A Knock on the Door gathers material from the several reports the TRC has produced to help inform and contextualize the journey to reconciliation that Canadians are now embarked upon.

An illuminating look at Native origins and lifeways through their storytelling traditions.

The first critical reader of Indigenous stories that spans Turtle Island, including Canada, the US and Mexico. The book explores core concepts of Indigenous literary studies, such as the relations between land, language, and community, in a variety of narrative forms.

In a work of critically engaged political theory, Glen Sean Coulthard seeks to revalue, reconstruct, and redeploy Indigenous cultural practices based on self-recognition rather than seeking appreciation from the very agents of colonialism.

What do we know of masculinities in non-patriarchal societies? Indigenous peoples of the Americas and beyond come from traditions of gender equity, complementarity, and the sacred feminine, concepts that were unimaginable and shocking to Euro-western peoples at contact. This book seeks to explore these notions.