George W. Wallace Library: ISSS Reference Sources: Psychology

Contact Us

Call : 450.672.7360

Loans Desk - Ext. 3221

Reference Desk - Ext. 3345

MIO Reference Librarian

reference-stlambert (at) crcmail.net

Encyclopedias

Handbook of Theories of Social Psychology - vol. 1 by Arie W. Kruglanski (Editor); E. Tory Higgins (Editor); Paul A. M. Van Lange (Editor)
Call Number: Available on CREDO REFERENCE
ISBN: 9780857029607
Publication Date: 2011-09-09
The first volume in this innovative two-volume set provides a comprehensive exploration of the major developments of social psychological theories that have taken place over the past half century, culminating in a state of the art overview of the primary theories and models that have been developed in this vast and fascinating field
Handbook of Theories of Social Psychology - vol. 2 by Arie W. Kruglanski (Editor); E. Tory Higgins (Editor); Paul A. M. Van Lange (Editor)
Call Number: Found in CREDO REFERENCE
ISBN: 9780857029614
Publication Date: 2011-09-09
The second volume in this innovative two-volume set, Handbook of Theories of Social Psychology, provides a comprehensive exploration of the major developments of social psychological theories that have taken place over the past half century, culminating in a state of the art overview of the primary theories and models that have been developed in this vast and fascinating field.
Handbook of Theories of Social Psychology by Arie W. Kruglanski (Editor); E. Tory Higgins (Editor); Paul A. M. Van Lange (Editor)
Call Number: Main Floor - Reference Shelves - REF HM1011/H39/2012/Vol. 1 - 2
ISBN: 9781847875143
The Cambridge Handbook of the Psychology of Prejudice by Chris G. Sibley (Editor); Fiona Kate Barlow (Editor)
Call Number: Main Floor - Reference Shelves - BF575/P9/C36/2017
ISBN: 9781107098336
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
ISSS students looking for theories to use with topics related to prejudice may be particularly interested in Part I, General Theoretical Perspectives, which contains 10 chapters, most of which deal in depth with a specific theory or group of theories.
The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by W. Edward Craighead (Editor); Charles B. Nemeroff (Editor)
Call Number: Found in CREDO Reference
ISBN: 9780471220367
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior by Vilayanur S. Ramachandran (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Main Floor - Reference Shelves - REF BF31/E5/2012/Vol. 1 - 3
ISBN: 9780123750006
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions by David Levinson (Editor); James J. Ponzetti (Editor); Peter F. Jorgensen (Editor)
Call Number: Main Floor - Reference Shelves - REF BF531/E55/1999/Vol. 1 - 2
ISBN: 0028647661
Encyclopedia of Psychology by Alan E. Kazdin (Editor)
Call Number: Main Floor - Reference Shelves - REF BF31/E52/2000/Vol. 1 - 8
ISBN: 1557981876
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology by Roy F. Baumeister (Editor); Kathleen D. Vohs (Editor)
Call Number: Main Floor - Reference Shelves - REF HM1007/E53/2007/Vol. 1 - 2
ISBN: 9781412916707

Dictionary

APA Dictionary of Psychology
Brief explanations of terms found in the many disciplines of Psychology.

Substance Abuse - Terms and Definitions

Amphetamine
Any one of this group of drugs that are powerful central nervous system stimulants. Amphetamines have stimulating effects opposite to the effects of depressants such as alcohol, narcotics, and barbiturates.
Cocaine
Alkaloid drug derived from the leaves of the coca shrub. A commonly abused illegal drug, cocaine has limited medical uses.
Heroin
Opiate drug synthesized from morphine. Originally produced in 1874, it was thought to be not only nonaddictive but useful as a cure for respiratory illness and morphine addiction.
Cannabis
Psychoactive substances obtained from cannabis sativa or Indian hemp are the oldest euphoriants. Also called marijuana, these substances do not usually result in physical dependance, but chronic abuse can create issues.
Mescaline
Derived from the Mexican peyote cactus, this hallucinogen has been used for many centuries by indigenous tribes in Mexico as an intoxicant to produce ecstatic states for religious celebrations.
Opium
Substance derived by collecting and drying the milky juice in the unripe seed pods of the opium poppy. Opium varies in color from yellow to dark brown and has a characteristic odor and a bitter taste.

Compulsive Disorders - Terms and Definitions

Anorexia
Lack of desire to eat or restriction of eating especially found in the pathological condition of anorexia nervosa.
Coprolalia
Coprolalia is a condition characterized by an irresistible urge to utter obscene words and phrases and uncontrollable performance of obscene gestures.
Eating Disorders
This umbrella term includes all disorders related to eating and body weight, including obesity. Those disorders also prominently feature problematic beliefs about health, weight and body shape.
Echolalia
Echolalia is a strong, almost mandatory, tendency to repeat spontaneously what has been said by another person (Benson & Ardila, 1996).
Gambling
The wagering of either money or material goods of value on the outcome of a chance happening, such as roulette or dice-throwing, or where an element of skill can be used to judge the likelihood of an outcome, such as in horse racing or football.
Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD)
Obsessions and compulsions are fairly common mental phenomena that most people have experienced, but they can become severe enough to interfere with one's functioning.
Tourette's Syndrome
A genetic disorder that is characterized by the presence of chronic vocal and motor tics. The tics usually become evident between the ages of 6 and 18. The tics may be minor or debilitating.

Psychotic Disorders - Terms and Definitions

Psychosis
In psychiatry, a broad category of mental disorders encompassing the most serious emotional disturbances, often rendering the individual incapable of staying in contact with reality.
Schizophrenia
Group of severe mental disorders characterized by reality distortions resulting in unusual thought patterns and behaviors.
Thought Disorder
Thought disorder is typically diagnosed when a patient’s speech is incoherent and unintelligible to the listener.

Developmental Disorders - Terms and Definitions

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder
(ADHD), formerly called hyperkinesis or minimal brain dysfunction, is a chronic, neurologically based syndrome characterized by any or all of three types of behavior: hyperactivity, distractibility, and impulsivity.
Autism
A spectrum of disorders defined by problems with communication, imagination, and social interaction. The symptoms may be present from birth or may develop in early childhood, around the third year.
Cerebral Palsy
Disability caused by brain damage before or during birth or in the first years, resulting in a loss of voluntary muscular control and coordination.
Childhood Obesity
Obesity (see definition) found in children.
Developmental Disabilities
An umbrella category referring to a diverse group of physical, cognitive, psychological, sensory, and speech impairments that begin anytime during an individual’s development up to 22 years of age.
Dyslexia
Although the majority of children learn to read without difficulty, a substantial minority (between 4 and 10 percent) have significant problems and can be described as dyslexic.
Learning Disabilities
Children and adults classified as learning disabled (LD) are those individuals who are of normal intelligence but suffer mental information processing difficulties.