Call : 450.672.7360
Companion Encyclopedia of Geography by
The Companion Encyclopedia of Geographyprovides an authoritative and provocative source of reference for all those concerned with the earth and its people. Examining both physical and human geography and charting human activities within their habitat up to the present day, this Companionalso asks what lies in the future: * A differentiated world * A world transformed by the growth of a global economy * The global scale of habitat modification * A world of questions * Changing worlds, changing geographies * Geographical futures. The forty-five self contained chapters are bound into a unifying whole by the editors' general and part introductions; each chapter provides details of the most useful sources of further reading and research, and the volume is concluded with a comprehensive index. This is an invaluable resource not only for students, teachers and researchers in the academic domain but also professionals in interested commercial and public-sector organisations.
A Companion to Cultural Geography by
A Companion to Cultural Geography brings together original contributions from 35 distinguished international scholars to provide a critical overview of this dynamic and influential field of study. Provides accessible overviews of key themes, debates and controversies from a variety of historical and theoretical vantage points Charts significant changes in cultural geography in the twentieth century as well as the principal approaches that currently animate work in the field A valuable resource not just for geographers but also those working in allied fields who wish to get a clear understanding of the contribution geography is making to cross-disciplinary debates
Geography by
Modern geography has come a long way from its historical roots in exploring foreign lands, and simply mapping and naming the regions of the world. Spanning both physical and human geography, the discipline today is unique as a subject which can bridge the divide between the sciences and thehumanities, and between the environment and our society. Using wide-ranging examples from global warming and oil, to urbanization and ethnicity, this Very Short Introduction paints a broad picture of the current state of geography, its subject matter, concepts and methods, and its strengths and controversies. The book's conclusion is no less than amanifesto for Geography's future.
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography by
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography, Second Edition, Fourteen Volume Set embraces diversity by design and captures the ways in which humans share places and view differences based on gender, race, nationality, location and other factors--in other words, the things that make people and places different. Questions of, for example, politics, economics, race relations and migration are introduced and discussed through a geographical lens. This updated edition will assist readers in their research by providing factual information, historical perspectives, theoretical approaches, reviews of literature, and provocative topical discussions that will stimulate creative thinking.- Presents the most up-to-date and comprehensive coverage on the topic of human geography- Contains extensive scope and depth of coverage- Emphasizes how geographers interact with, understand and contribute to problem-solving in the contemporary world- Places an emphasis on how geography is relevant in a social and interdisciplinary context
Key Concepts in Urban Geography by
Organized around 20 short essays, Key Concepts in Urban Geography provides a cutting-edge introduction to the central concepts that define contemporary research in urban geography. Involving detailed and expansive discussions, the book includes: An introductory chapter providing a succinct overview of the recent developments in the field. Over 20 key concept entries with comprehensive explanations, definitions and evolutions of the subject. A glossary, figures, diagrams and suggested further reading. This is an ideal companion text for upper-level undergraduate and postgraduate students in urban geography and covers the expected staples of the subdiscipline from global cities and urban nature to transnational urbanism and virtuality.
