In a digital world, the demands for 24/7 access to resources has become a priority in as much as capital and operating budget regulations will allow. A delicate balance is required to ensure a proper mix of print versus electronic resources.
1) Books are added to our main circulating collection when purchased in print format. They are available for 2-week loan. Only 1 copy is purchased. When necessary they may be temporarily relocated to the Reserves shelves at the Loan’s desk.
2) Reference works refer to, but not limited to, encyclopedias, statistical reports, handbooks, etc. As these types of works are frequently updated, access to electronic formats through online database subscriptions is prioritized.
When purchased in electronic format, a 1-user license is acquired from one of the providers of our ebook databases (for example eBook Central or Credo Reference). This ensures ease of storage, retrieval and usage licence management.
Books and reference works are collected from university presses, scholarly societies as well as from specialized professional publishers.
3) Fiction and Graphic Novels are collected when budgets allow. Acclaimed works are considered. The purchase of works by Canadian, Québec and Indigenous authors are prioritized.
4) Textbooks are not purchased due to their high cost and short lifespan of certain editions. When pertinent, faculty are encouraged to donate textbook copies for the library’s short-term reserves.
Periodicals and magazines are preferred in electronic format through online databases. General interest magazines are purchased in print
Major Canadian daily newspapers are available in electronic format through online databases. Because of their high cost and low usage, print subscriptions to newspapers have been canceled.
Videos are collected that support the various programs and courses. As budgets allow, video documentaries are available for online streaming via subscription to specialized databases. This will off-set issues relating to the lack of DVD players now available in the classrooms.
Multi-disciplinary/Multi-user simultaneous access databases are made available to students through purchases from multiple vendor. The databases must support current curricular needs. For budgeting purposes, priority is given to resources available via group consortia negotiations (via Regroupement des bibliothèques collégiales du Québec and Collecto, Services regroupés en education). Since students, faculty and staff from the other constituent colleges also have access to these resources, the subscription costs are shared on a prorata basis with the Lennoxville and St.Lawrence constituent colleges. Prior to their renewal, a database usage analysis is conducted.