ProQuest Research Library is a database that contains articles from magazines and scholarly journals. ProQuest Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) is a database that contains articles mostly from Canadian magazines and journals. Both of these contain sources in French. Access both of these databases on the Find Articles page of the library website..
To find French articles in ProQuest Research Library and CBCA, first type your search terms (in French) in the search boxes at the top of the "Advanced Search" page. Then scroll down the page.
Make sure that the "Full text" option is selected. If you need scholarly articles, also make sure that the "Peer reviewed" option is selected.
A bit lower down you will see the language section. Select "French".
Now click on the teal "Search" button.
Your result list will contain articles in French or articles with a French abstract.
JSTOR is a database that contains many scholarly journal articles. Most of them are from peer-reviewed journals. It has articles on many different topics in humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics. The content is research focused. You can access this database on the Find Articles page of the library website.
Use French keywords to find articles written in French in JSTOR. On the Advanced Search page, type your search terms (in French) in the search box(es). Click on the Submit Advanced Search button.
Alternatively, the Advanced Search page has a Language limiter that you may also use. It is a drop down menu box under the Narrow Results section. Select French from the list of languages. Click on the Submit Advanced Search button.
Erudit is a Quebec database containing articles and other sources (e.g. dissertations and theses) in French and some in English, much of which is available for free.
Enter your search terms in the boxes and, if you need only scholarly articles, select "Articles savants" (scholarly articles) before clicking on "Rechercher". (Note: "Comptes rendus" is book reviews; uncheck the corresponding box if you don't want them.)
After you get the results, choose "Langue" under "Filtres" (on the left hand side of the page). Select "Français" and then click "Filter". The results list will reload with only the French articles.
Persée is a free database consisting primarily of humanities and social science journals in French.
Enter your search term in the search box at the top right of the page. You can then limit your search by using the filters at the left of your results page.
