Designed for beginning students of Italian at the high-school, university, and community college levels, Lettura e Conversazione is a series of interesting, stimulating dialogues and readings based on actual experiences and situations that the student faces in daily life.
This book contains entries for major and minor Italian writers from the twelfth century to the present, to Italian metrics and poetic forms or genres, and to literary or critical schools, periods, problems, and movements. A general introduction to major figures and movements throughout the long and rich history of Italian literature.
Dante Alighieri's poetic masterpiece, The Divine Comedy, is a moving human drama, an unforgettable visionary journey through the infinite torment of Hell, up the arduous slopes of Purgatory, and on to the glorious realm of Paradise-the sphere of universal harmony and eternal salvation. This translation, by John Ciardi, has become a classic on its own.
Some translations from Italian and French, edited and with an introduction by Joseph Pivato. The most inclusive collection of its kind in North America, this anthology includes a wide variety of genres, from fiction and poetry to essays, plays, film scripts and memoirs. The more than fifty authors represented come from across Canada and have backgrounds in all regions of Italy. Organized in three sections, Writers from Our Past, Writers for Our Time, and Ironies of Identity, the book presents both published and unpublished excerpts from the work of writers of various ages and literary styles. For students looking to find a subject of research for their Comprehensive Assessment.
"Pillars of Lace" is an eclectic collection of the finest writing by Italian-Candian women. It is the first anthology of its kind in Canada. This anthology showcases excerpts from a variety of genres: poetry, short stories, film scripts, novels, personal memoirs and journalism. The work, some of which is translated into English, is from a complex tricultural landscape. This anthology is the perfect starting point for an introduction to and a taste of Italian-Canadian writing by women for students.
A history of the Italian peninsula reaching back to prehistoric times, "Italy: A Short History" is exactly what its title says:a short history of Italy. Long periods of time are summarized in a readable and informative manner, leaving students free to delve deeper into a period or event of their choosing. Tremendously useful as an introduction to Italian history, students who wish to have an introduction to a specific period of Italian culture would do well to consult this document.
A broad introduction to the history and culture of Italy, this textbook is useful for students looking for a general introduction to any cultural phenomenon of any era of the history of Italy. Though a bit short on detail when discussing any issue, this book nonetheless provides a clearly defined narration of the history of Italy.
Provides a comprehensive account of Italy and Italian politics in the 21st Century. Featuring contributions from many leading scholars in the field, this Handbook is comprised of 28 chapters which are organized to deliver unparalleled analysis of Italian society, politics and culture. A wide range of topics are covered. This is an essential reference work for scholars and students of Italian and Western European society, politics, and history.
This guide delves into renowned films and directors but is also attentive to the popular films which achieved box office success among the public in Italy during the 20th and 21rst century. A good introduction as well as a surefire way of learning more about Italian cinema, this guide is good go-to resource for questions pertaining to Italian cinema.
Framing the media in the context of Italy, this book explores why politics and government are so closely linked, and assess the question of whether it's just national pride that has allowed the media to remain relatively independent of global groups.
Essential reading to understand the Berlusconi phenomenon and its roots in Italian culture.
This volume provides a comprehensive history sweep of Italian cinema that encompasses prestige and popular cinema and provides different standpoints from which to consider the recurrent themes of realism, politics, spectacle, and the operatic that are found across Italian film culture. Divided into 'genre', each section begins with an essay which summarizes the main points as well as figures of each type of cinema. It is followed by a review of the genre's main movies, with a wealth of information which any student of Italian cinema will find both fascinating and useful.