George W. Wallace Library: French Resources: BAnQ

Finding articles at the BAnQ

The Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec is available to all residents of Quebec.

Once you are a subscriber, you can search the databases in order to find articles. Go to the BAnQ numérique and click on the first option on the left of the page: Toutes les ressources.

You can access the list of databases on the right, by theme, by type, by name.

Databases with scholarly French articles include FRANCIS and CAIRN.

DATABASES in French at the BAnQ

Computer Science

ENI Ebooks and videos on computer science topics. For all levels: beginner, intermediate and advanced users.
Techniques de l'ingénieur Detailed information written by engineering professionals. Restricted remote access evening and weekends only.

General Encyclopedia

Universalis éducation Includes a dictionary and atlas, in addition to the encyclopedia. Lots of supplemental videos, music clips, interview, photos, table, etc. Formerly called Encyclopaedia Universalis.

History

LaVoute.tv Quebec audiovisual archives. Discover unpublished film and sound content, preserved in nearly thirty authorized archival centres in Quebec. LaVoute.tv broadcasts as many amateur films and soundtracks testifying to the mores of an era as that of community television broadcasts. The archives date from the 1920s to the 2000s and cover various subjects: rural life, urbanism, religion, arts, sports and leisure, health, politics, etc. -- Taken from BAnQ website
Numérique Premium Ebooks about history and humanities.
More History of Canada and Quebec Databases

Humanities

CAIRN Social science articles and books. Plus entries from the reference collection Que sais-je?
Erudit (Full Version) Scholarly research in humanities and social sciences.
Eureka Magazine and newspaper articles from Canada and abroad. Radio and television show transcripts. Get the current news from 130 countries in 15 languages. Some titles include: L’Actualité, Les Affaires, Courrier international, Le Devoir, Le Droit, L’Express, Le Figaro, Libération, Le Monde, La Presse, Protégez-vous, Le Soleil and many regional newspapers.
Project Muse Ebooks in humanities and social sciences. Some French.
Repère

Language and Literature

Bibliothèque du Nouveau Monde Key texts from Quebec literature from its beginnings to the end of the 20th century...recognized for their quality and rigor. Includes novels and short stories, essays and chronicles, poetry as well as travelogues. -- taken from BAnQ website.

Nursing

CPS Bilingual database describing all kinds of medications, vaccines and natural remedies in Canada. Includes a directory of related professional services, a product identification tool and glossary.

Membership at la Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ)

You must subscribe to access the databases at the BAnQ. It's a FREE membership!

Sign up online : https://www.banq.qc.ca/abonnement/

Allow 2-3 working days for online requests to be processed.

OR go in person, and sign up : https://www.banq.qc.ca/visiter-la-grande-bibliotheque/