Find Articles

Find ...

Library Reference staff are available to answer your questions

Monday to Friday

9:00 am to 4:00 pm

Any messages received outside of these HOURS will be answered on the next weekday. While we may monitor messages over the weekends, holidays and other closures we cannot guarantee you will receive an immediate response.

Find Articles in Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Databases

Articles in General Databases

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window A general reference database with over 5,000 full text titles, including more than 3,000 scholarly journals most of which are peer-reviewed. Covers many popular academic subject areas. Includes journal titles such as Behavior & Social Issues, Ethics & the Environment, Religions, etc. [Articles]
- ProQuest Search Tips
- ProQuest Basic Search Help
- ProQuest Advanced Search Help
- ProQuest Video Tutorials
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Find articles in subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology, … information and articles available in both PDF and HTML formats. – Taken from website [Articles]More than 9,000 full text publications, over 5000 of them are peer-reviewed
Includes full text of the Economist, New York Times, the Times and Financial Times
- Guide
- Video: Overview
- Video: Narrow Topic
- Video: Topic Finder
- More Gale Video Tutorials
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Articles from scholarly journals, ebooks and primary sources from many subject areas including, arts, business & economics, history, humanities, law, literature, medicine & health, science & mathematics, and social sciences. Our subscription now includes the content of all 16 JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections as well as all the Primary Sources Collections.
- How to Use JSTOR
- Books at JSTOR
- JSTOR Video Tutorials
ProQuest Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window Database of Canadian content from a variety of Canadian magazines and peer-reviewed journals. Includes full text articles that are available from over 700 sources and over 250 of them are scholarly sources. Includes titles like Canadian Psychology, Maclean's, Money sense, Psychomusicology, etc. [Articles]
Gale In Context : Science This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from national and global scientific publications as well as 200+ experiments, projects, and top reference content. Includes over 250 full-text peer-reviewed journals. -- taken from website.
ProQuest Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window Newspaper articles from the major Canadian English language dailies. Includes full text articles in some of the newspapers. There's the the Montreal Gazette, the Globe & Mail, National Post, Toronto Star, the Ottawa Citizen and the other 15 major Canadian newspapers. [Articles]

Go to the Complete A to Z Database List

Articles on the Web

Core Open access research papers from around the world
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is "an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals"

Erudit This link opens in a new window A mainly North American French-language full text database providing access to scholarly research articles in the areas of humanities and social sciences. Almost all of the content (95%) is available in open access. This free version of Érudit does not allow access to “the latest publication year for restricted scholarly journals, and to the past three years for cultural journals”. – Taken from website [Articles]

Google Scholar "Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature... you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites." -- taken from the website
Persée French full text database providing access to scholarly journals from France in the areas of humanities and social sciences.

Articles in Education, Nursing & Tourism Databases

Gale OneFile : Educators Reference Complete This link opens in a new window With over 800 full text magazines and journals, over 500 journals are peer-reviewed. This collection “is a great resource for any educator—from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.” – taken from Gale website.

ERIC: Education Resources Information Center ERIC is the source for information on all aspects of education for all age groups, including counseling, tests, and measurement. ERIC indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. *** Select Full-text option to access the freely available sources.***

Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window Health and Wellness database, Gale's comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information. New periodical and newspaper articles are added daily. [Articles]
Gale OneFile : Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window Health and Medicine database provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. [Articles]
Gale OneFile : Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new window Hospitality and Tourism database "provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries." -- Taken from website. [Articles]
Gale OneFile : Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window A database for Nursing students and professionals. With over 400 full-text journals and magazines mainly from the United States and the United Kingdom. Covering topics in health and medicine "including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management." -- taken from website. [Articles]
Gale OneFile : Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window "Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more." -- taken from website. [Articles]

MSI - Méthodes de soins informatisées - NOW AVAILABLE ONLY VIA NURSING STUDENT OMNIVOX COMMUNITY Méthodes de soins informatisées (MSI) - Reserved for Nursing students only via NURSING STUDENTS OMNIVOX COMMUNITY (USEFUL LINKS)

Access the databases off campus

Use your Champlain Office 365 Sign In. Questions? Ask Us!

Database Problem Form

If you are unable to access the library article databases or e-book databases, please complete the Database Problem form We will try to help you as best we can.

Alternative Database Access

We highly recommend that you sign up for remote access to the extensive collection of online resources at the Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (www.banq.qc.ca). Sign up online (here). It's FREE!

Allow 2-3 working days for online requests to be processed.