Call : 450.672.7360
Dictionary of Politics and Government
by
Terms covering world politics, international relations, local and national government and the European Union.
The Encyclopedia of Political Science
by
(on page xxviii there's a list of Political theories covered in the encyclopedia)
A Glossary of Political Theory
by
This book covers alphabetically both the major concepts in political theory and the key writers in the field. While ensuring accuracy and objectivity, the entries represent interpretations that are both challenging and interesting. The premise underlying the book is that politics cannot be studied without theory, in which case the more concrete and relevant the theory, the better. Presenting theory in an abstract fashion makes it daunting for students who can find it difficult to see the links between theory and practice. The definitions in this glossary therefore relate political ideas to political realities (i.e. everyday controversies) in an attempt to make them as lively, stimulating and accessible as possible. Terms are selected based upon the concepts most regularly used in teaching.
The Oxford Handbook of Political Science
by
Drawing on the rich resources of the ten-volume series of The Oxford Handbooks of Political Science, this one-volume distillation provides a comprehensive overview of all the main branches of contemporary political science: political theory; political institutions; political behavior; comparative politics; international relations; political economy; law and politics; public policy; contextual political analysis; and political methodology. Sixty-seven ofthe top political scientists worldwide survey recent developments in those fields and provide penetrating introductions to exciting new fields of study. Following in the footsteps of the New Handbook of Political Science edited by Robert Goodin and Hans-Dieter Klingemann a decade before, this OxfordHandbook will become an indispensable guide to the scope and methods of political science as a whole. It will serve as the reference book of record for political scientists and for those following their work
Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought
by
Covers every aspect of political thought, defining concepts and ideologies, surveying the arguments on issues, giving capsule histories of political institutions, and summarizing the thought of major political theorists.
Political Philosophy A-Z
by
A comprehensive, up to date and concise guide to one of the most important branches of philosophy.
The SAGE handbook of political science
by
Provides a comprehensive overview of each subject. Each chapter has a similar structure covering the following main items: a short history of the subject, basic theories and concepts, global/regional differentiation (where this applies), empirical databases (where this applies), major advances, ongoing debates, critical assessments, and perspectives.
The Anti-Capitalist Dictionary
by
This dictionary is an alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements.
A Dictionary of Diplomacy
by
Diplomacy has spawned its own specialized terminology, and it is this lexicon which provides this title's thematic spine. Includes entries on legal terms, political events, international organizations and major figures who have occupied the diplomatic scene or have written influentially about it over the last half millennium.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945
by
This outstanding, comprehensive, and up-to-date encyclopedia on human rights issues from 1945 to 1998 features entries on incidents and violations, instruments and initiatives, countries and human rights activists.
Handbook of Global Environmental Politics
by
This landmark book maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this energetic and growing field. Captured here are the pioneering and lively debates over concerns for the health of the planet and how they might best be addressed.
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
by
The essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore topics in international environmental politics.
Key Concepts in International Relations
by
International relations is a vibrant field of significant growth and change. This book guides students through the complexities of the major theories of international relations and the debates that surround them, the core theoretical concepts, and the key contemporary issues. Introduced by an overview of the discipline′s development and general structure, the more than 40 entries are broken down as follows: Parts one and two introduce the key theories and each chapter includes: A broad overview A discussion of methodologies A review of empirical applications A guide to further reading and useful websites Part three discusses the major concepts and for each concept provides: An introduction to the core questions An overview of the definitions and theoretical perspectives A review of empirical problems Links to other entries, further reading and useful websites Clear and highly readable, Key Concepts in International Relations is an essential guide for students on politics and international relations courses.
Nationalism
by
Massive changes have taken place in the way nations and nationalism are thought about. From being viewed enthusiastically by historians as a force for beneficial change before the First World War, today appeals to 'national' sentiment are viewed as far more complex and problematic. This book looks at how historians (and others, such as sociologists and political theorists) have explained the development, and enduring importance, of national identities from c.1850 to the present day. It compares and contrasts a wide range of different theories, and will be useful for anyone wanting to equip themselves with a theoretical understanding of why we live in nations, and why we invest them with such significance.
The Oxford Companion to International Relations
by
International Relations has long been a core discipline within Political Science, one of vast importance for understanding social, cultural, economic and political exchanges across national boundaries. Every dimension of human experience falls within the scope of the field, making it applicable to psychologists, historians, anthropologists, and others across a wide swath of academia. The two-volume Oxford Companion to International Relations would be one of the first reference works to make this field clear and comprehensible to both specialists and non-specialists. Entries are mostly thematic in content, rather than site-specific, permitting the work to have value and currency for years to come. The numerous theories and applications of IR are comprehensively covered, as would controversies related to the field, prominent figures, and ways IR has shaped political history. There are revised and updated entries derived from the Oxford Companion to Politics of the World, while the rest would be newly commissioned and authored by the foremost IR scholars around the world. New entries cover institutional developments (for instance, the creation and operation of the International Criminal Court, the governance of the Internet, and the various changes in the international monetary architecture since the beginning of the economic crisis); significant events that were not covered in the older volume (the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq, the challenges facing new democratic regimes in Eastern Europe and Africa); and advances in IR scholarship, especially in the fields of terrorism and international security. Fifteen interpretive essays are interspersed throughout the A-Z text, encouraging further scholarship and dialogue between readers.
Poverty: An International Glossary
by
Provides an exhaustive and authoritative guide to technical terms used in contemporary scholarly research on poverty.
Public Opinion and Polling Around the World: A Historical Encyclopedia
by
Covering the intricate facets of America's most important democratic tradition, this book serves as an important resource to understand how citizens' views are translated into governmental action.
The SAGE Handbook of International Migration
by
The SAGE Handbook of International Migration provides an authoritative and informed analysis of key issues in international migration, including its crucial significance far beyond the more traditional questions of immigrant settlement and incorporation in particular countries. Bringing together chapters contributed by an international cast of leading voices in the field, the Handbook is arranged around four key thematic parts: Part 1: Disciplinary Perspectives on Migration Part 2: Historical and Contemporary Flows of Migrants Part 3: Theory, Policy and the Factors Affecting Incorporation Part 4: National and Global Policy Challenges in Migration The last three decades have seen the rapid increase and diversification in the types of international migration, and this Handbook has been created to meet the need among academics and researchers across the social sciences, policy makers and commentators for a definitive publication which provides a range of perspectives and insights into key themes and debates in the field.
