Contact UsLibrary HoursLoan PoliciesComputer Use, Printing and PhotocopyingMedia Centre Services
Find ArticlesFind Books & DVDs in the LibraryFind eBooksFind StatisticsFind Subject/Course GuideFind Research Help
Academic Search EliteCanadian Business & Current AffairsCanadian Newstand Major DailiesCitation - [ON Campus access] - [OFF Campus access]French ResourcesGovernment of Canada PublicationsLibrary CatalogueProQuest Research LibraryStatistics CanadaUnlocking Research
This is the "Home" page of the "George Wallace Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

George Wallace Library  

Last Updated: Nov 26, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page


Articles Button  Books and DVD Button  eBooks Button
Statistics Button  Subject / Course Guides Button  Research Help Button

Items of the Week - Nov. 23, 2015

Previously Featured

New Books - Fall 2015

Cover Art
Psychology Today
Call Number: Available in Full text on Academic Search Elite
ISBN: 19110189
Publication Date: November/December 2015
"Psychology Today is devoted exclusively to everybody's favorite subject: Ourselves., has gathered renowned psychologists, academics, psychiatrists and authors in the field -- there are over 750 of them -- to contribute their thoughts and ideas on what makes us tick. It's a live stream of what's happening in 'psychology today'.

The magazine, first launched in 1967, continues to thrive."
-- taken from the magazine website

Cover Art
A Concise History of the Middle East - Arthur Goldschmidt Jr.; Aomar Boum; Lawrence Davidson
Call Number: Electronic book available on CREDO Reference (click the cover)
ISBN: 9780813349626
Publication Date: 2015-07-28
An introduction to the history of this turbulent region from the beginnings of Islam to the present day, this widely acclaimed text by Arthur Goldschmidt Jr. is distinguished by its clear style, broad scope, and balanced treatment. This book explores the evolution of Islamic institutions and culture, the influence of the West, the modernization efforts of Middle Eastern governments, the struggle of various peoples for political independence, the Arab-Israeli conflict, the reassertion of Islamic values and power, the issues surrounding the Palestinian Question, and the post-9/11 Middle East. The eleventh edition has been fully revised to reflect the most recent events in, and concerns of, the region, including an expanded and more nuanced discussion of the "War on Terrorism and the Arab uprisings, coverage of the rise of ISIS, and a new chapter on the growing environmental problems of the region. In addition, the authors have incorporated new scholarship on the early history to provide a fuller picture of the political shifts and socioeconomic concerns of that time. With updated bibliographical sketches, chronology and glossary, A Concise History of the Middle East remains an essential text for students of Middle East history.

Cover Art
OECD Factbook 2014 - Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Staff
Call Number: REF HC10/O33/2011 (on the Main Floor)
ISBN: 9789264204157
Publication Date: 2014-06-18
We have the 2011 edition in print, the 2014 edition is available online just click the link in the Catalog record. Just click the title or the book cover.

OECD Factbook 2014 is the newest edition of a comprehensive and dynamic statistical annual publication with more than 100 indicators covering:

Agriculture -- Economic Production -- Education -- Energy -- Environment -- Foreign Aid -- Health -- Industry -- Information and Communications -- International Trade -- Labor Force -- Population -- Taxation -- Public Expenditure -- Research and Development

The Factbook provides data for all OECD member countries including regional area totals, and in some cases for selected nonmember economies including Brazil, China, India,Indonesia, Russia, and South Africa. For each indicator there is a two page spread: A text page includes a short introduction followed by a detailed definition of the indicator,comments on comparability of the data, an assessment of long-term trends related to the indicator, and a list of references for further information on the indicator. The opposite page contains a table and a graph providing, at a glance, the key message conveyed by the data. A dynamic link (StatLink) for each table directs the user to a web page where the corresponding data is available in Excel® format.

Cover Art
Personal Investing : How to Invest Your Money for Consistent Returns - Kaiwen Leong; Edwin Lim; Edward H. Choi
Call Number: Electronic book available on Ebrary (click the cover)
ISBN: 9789814561013
Publication Date: 2014-11-07
Investing is all about asking the right questions. Everyone asks: how do I invest like the top investors? But here s a better question: how do I invest like the top banks? These are two very different questions that yield two very different results. And by results, we mean money. Mapping your salary progression? Planning your retirement? Wanting to combat inflation? Investing includes C-level banker Edwin Lim s inside look into the trading strategies of top banks and how he and his C-level colleagues applied those strategies to their own investment portfolios. You too can invest like the top banks, enjoy consistent long-term returns on your investment and become the ultimate investor."

November is Financial Literacy Month!

Cover Art
Violence Against Girls and Women - Janet A. Sigal (Editor); Florence L. Denmark (Editor); Joan C. Chrisler (Foreword by)
Call Number: HV6250.4/W65/V565/2013/Vol. 1-2 (on the 3rd floor)
ISBN: 9781440803352
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Sexual assault, sex trafficking, and child abuse affect millions of women and girls globally each year. This two-volume set covers a broad scope of topics, from violence against girls before birth, in childhood, and throughout women's adult lives. * Presents valuable perspective from contributors who are members of NGOs working at the UN, providing an informed focus on international issues * Examines violence against girls and women comprehensively, from before birth to old age * Provides a wide breadth of coverage on international domestic violence issues in a single set * Offers recommendations for reducing or eliminating violence within each chapter * Appropriate for students of psychology or sociology of women, gender studies, and international studies

November 25th is the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women

Research Help - 24/7

Unlocking Research dot com Image and link


Research Tip

On Display this Week

On Display this Week

Remembrance Day
- Poetry & War -

More Links


Report a Computer Problem


Library Hours - Regular

Library hours for this week
Mon. - Thu. 7:30 am - 5:30 pm
Fri. 7:30 am - 4:30 pm
Doors and Loan Desk close at 5:20 pm
(4:20 pm on Friday)

Ask a Librarian

TiP! You can also email us or send us a MIO at "Reference Librarian".

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Do You Know About...?

Contact Us

MIO icon MIO:  Reference Librarian   
Email Icon Email: 
Phone Icon Phone: 450.672.7360
          Loan Desk - Ext. 221
          Reference Desk - Ext. 345

    Other Links


    Loading  Loading...